2016 Reviews - Crescent Beach, Grand Cayman - Crescent Beach - vacation paradise in Cayman

Go to content

2016 Reviews - Crescent Beach, Grand Cayman

Reviews

These reviews are not edited for content
but are edited for "typos".

They were either made public on
VRBO, TripAdvisor or AirBNB
or were written in our SAND or SKY guestbooks and we thank the writers for taking the time to give us and you their opinion.

SKY reviews
SAND reviews
SKY: December 2016: Wonderful time at the Crescent Beach House! (AT-VRBO)
 
We had a great family vacation time at the Crescent Beach House. Paul and Fay Anne met us upon our arrival and made sure we had everything to make our week enjoyable. They invited us to the New Year celebration at the Governor's Beach and had the food + lanterns for us. We felt very welcome. Their beautiful Sky was very roomy and they even brought us an extra mattress for one of our children since none of our kids wanted to share the bedroom with Grandma. All the recommendations for restaurants and activities at the house were very helpful. All in all we love their house and the East side was great for our quiet time to bond with our children. Lastly, their hospitality made us feel at home and we did not want to leave at the end of our stay.
 

 
SKY: December 2016: Most wonderful trip! Can we give 6 stars?! CK-VRBO)
 
We just returned home from an amazing week at Sky. Paul and Fay Anne thought of everything! We did a lot of cooking in the lovely kitchen (great appliances and kitchen tools)! We used the grill, the washer/dryer, the cooler, the beach chairs, the awesome Cayman towels. All necessities provided including a first aid kit, sunscreen, bug spray (just  a few bugs after sundown, not bad at all!), snorkel gear, recycling bins. Gorgeous bathrooms/shower with soap and shampoo. Very comfy beds. Lovely  deck chairs on beach and around the pool. Hammocks on beach for relaxing and reading. Paul and Fay Ann have a info-packed booklet all about the residence and the island. (Read more...)
 

 
SKY: December 2016: Guestbook notes (P,C,M and I - Michigan)
 
We are finishing an amazing week here at Half Moon Bay! We are so impressed with your beautiful home. The views from SKY are unbelievable. We truly feel we have spent a week in paradise. Thank you for all of the special touches around the home - we also appreciated your environmental care: recycling bins and smart air-conditioning system. Some of our favourite activities in addition to great snorkeling right here in the bay:
 
1.        Scuba diving with Ocean Frontiers
 
2.        Snorkeling trip with White Sands
 
3.        Lunch at the Wyndham Reef
 
4.        Crystal Caves
 
5.        Silly pictures at Concrete Gardens
 
6.        Queen Elizabeth Botanical Gardens - water lilies in bloom
 
7.        Restaurants - Tukka (yum), Kaibo (so slow, food so-so), Lighthouse (take-out pizza, and Rackams
 
8.        Escape Room Pirate Cellar - so FUN! LockedInnCayman
 
9.        Spotts Beach - snorkeled and saw turtles
 
Happy New Year, best wishes! We hope to be back soon!
 

 
SKY: December 2016: What a Great Stay - Perfect for a Family Vacation! (WC-VRBO) ★★★★★
 
If spending the day  snorkeling, swimming, exploring the tide pools, laying in the hammock,  grilling, and watching the stars by a bonfire on the beach appeal to you  - this is the place! Our family of 6, ranging from age 4 to 72, had a wonderful stay this December. Paul was an very gracious host, offering to procure groceries for us for our first day, and giving us a thorough tour of the property when we arrived. Tastefully appointed and well-stocked - we had everything we needed! The beach is protected from the waves by a coral reef a few hundred yards offshore, which provided a great place to introduce our six year old to snorkeling, getting a great  look at lots of different fish and coral. While this is a great family spot - it can be a romantic getaway too...enjoyed late nights with a bottle of wine on the balcony listening to the waves and watching the  stars. Great find!
 
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.
 

 
SKY: November 2016: Extremely Relaxing! (L&CS-VRBO) ★★★★★
 
Our week in your lovely home was one of the most relaxing weeks we've had in a long time. We truly enjoyed your beautiful and very comfortable beach home, as the views were spectacular! We also enjoyed the snorkeling in the bay right outside, and swimming in the pool, and lounging in the hammocks. We also were able to relax as we ate breakfast on the balcony every morning. We truly appreciate how sweet and thoughtful you were for our anniversary. The rum cake and wine was a very "tasteful" gift. The recommendations for resturants were spot on. Our very favorites were Bombay Chopsticks, Tukka, and Pappagallo. We hope to be back for another anniversary trip soon, thanks for being such wonderful hosts!
Guestbook notes:
This has been one of the most relaxing weeks we've had in a long time. We truly enjoyed your beautiful beach home. The view from this apartment is so spectacular! We enjoyed snorkeling here at the house & swimming in the pool as well as relaxing breakfast on the balcony every morning. [Private note] The recommendations for restaurants were spot on. We had a fantastic meal every night - our favourites were Bombay Chopsticks, Tukka & Pappagallo. We hope to be back soon for another anniversary trip. Thanks again for everything and for breakfast the next morning since the stores were closed on Sunday. You are truly wonderful hosts.
 

 
SAND: November 2016: Guestbook notes (S, T & G - Baltimore)
 
Very likely our best vacation ever. The beautiful island, the perfect weather, and the lovely home all combined to wash our cares away. Paul and Fay Anne are gracious and generous hosts, and are an endless source of valuable information. I can't imagine how the trip could have been better. Thank you for everything. T is already planning for a trip next year!
 

SKY: October 2016: Facebook (IB) ★★★★★
We absolutely loved our stay here. Paul and Faye Ann are the greatest hosts and so welcoming. We stayed in the SKY condo and everything was beyond comfy and well maintained! It certainly felt like home away from home! We definitely need to come back!
 

 
SAND: October 2016: You'll want to move in (MG-TripAdvisor) ★★★★★
My wife and I have traveled all over, but this is the only place we have been that we really didn't want to leave. It was so amazing we really want to move there! The property itself is wonderful and has everything you need. Make sure to take any special coffee you may like and there is a great coffee maker to brew up a nice cup. The kitchen got quite a workout when we were there and had everything we needed. The beach and  pool are perfect. The snorkeling is really amazing. I saw snapper, grouper, tarpon, rays, lobster, and all sorts of other fish around the many coral heads in the small bay. We are planning a trip back next year, but my only fear is we'll be feeding the bug that is trying to get us to move there! Driving on the left side of the road was a fun adventure too! Oh, Chick Chick LOVES crackers when he isn't wandering the beach for chicks :)
 

 
SAND: August 2016: Guestbook notes (NG) ★★★★★
Well, what can I say... I forgot what month it is! Loved our stay and really don't want to leave. Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home for our tenth anniversary. We'll be back...
 

 
SAND: August 2016: Guestbook notes (DH) ★★★★★
We can't say enough good things about this home away from home. The house is open, spacious and expansive like the surroundings. The quiet atmosphere, constant sensory experience of the ocean soothes and refuels the body and spirit. We were able to rest and restore ourselves from our hectic New York lifestyle. Thank you, Paul and Fay Anne, for being wonderful, responsive hosts and creating a perfect environment. We hope to return and share this haven with family and friends.
 

 
SAND: July 2016: Guestbook notes (JA) ★★★★★
 
What a wonderful place - and what wonderful, caring hosts. We have had the holiday of a lifetime - snorkeling coral gardens, feeding stingrays, nesting and hatching turtles, shooting stars at night, kayaking, starfish, paddleboarding, amazing peaceful beaches, delightful food and drinks, crab dodging at night - oh! and we also got married here! We feel very closely attached to Cayman and Crescent Beach and we truly hope to come back many, many times. With much love: J, F, E and I xxxx - and love to Chick-Chick too...
 

 
SAND: July 2016: Absolutely Incredible!!!! (LM-VRBO) ★★★★★
 
First and foremost I'd like to say that Paul and Fay Anne are amazing people who will welcome you to Grand Cayman with open arms. They will help you with anything you need at any time you might need it. The best description of SAND is "Utopia." The house is absolutely gorgeous with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. Each room (3 of them) has their own bathroom which was perfect since we had a family of 4. There was no extensive waiting to get ready to go anywhere, which was rare since you really never want to leave! SAND is located just past Bodden Town on the south side of the island as you head east. It's removed from all of the hustle and bustle of the cruise ships, traffic and tourists. There are plenty of restaurants on the East End should you choose to avoid going "into town" to do any dining (Bombay Chopsticks is a must as is Tukka). The house is located right on the beach so snorkeling is RIGHT THERE and we spent countless hours snorkeling and taking pictures just outside our back door. The house was SPOTLESS when we arrived and equipped with everything you could possibly need for cooking, laundry, lounging, grilling, sitting outside and relaxing or playing. They even provide any paper products, shampoo, conditioner and soaps from "Beach Bubbles" (a soap shop down the road) that the only thing you really need is food. Our oldest rode one of the bicycles provided and probably wore out the tires! After snorkeling we'd walk up the beach, rinse off in the outdoor shower and lounge around in the pool. When the sun would set (which is a sight to behold) we'd sit around on the back patio and listen to the waves. Should you decide to leave to venture into George Town or Rum Point you won't have to travel far because the house is perfectly located to reach anywhere rather quickly. Should you want to hang out at 7 Mile Beach there are lawn chairs provided to take with you as well as beach towels (and a safe in the master bedroom to lock up passports and anything else you want to secure -- you pick the code for the safe). I highly recommend choosing SAND as your location when you visit Grand Cayman. We were so sad to leave but have so many incredible memories that will last a lifetime. Thank you to Paul and Fay Anne for making us feel at home and providing such an incredible place. You go above and beyond by providing so much for your guests, from hospitality to amenities. We were truly lucky to have found the perfect place in Cayman!
 

 
SAND: June 2016: Unbelievable (LM-TripAdvisor) ★★★★★
 
Stayed at Crescent Beach SAND June 25-July 2, 2016 and already miss it. Paul and Fay Anne greeted us at Fosters in Bodden Town and treated us like we were old friends. Super awesome people!!! They will help you with whatever you need, before your trip if you have questions, and during your stay for anything you need. The house is GORGEOUS. Situated on the south side of the island right on the beach, you really don't need to leave. We snorkeled right outside the back door and saw so many fish and conchs around the coral. The house is equipped with everything you could possibly need. The only thing you need to buy at the store is food. Paper products and trash bags are already there. They supply shampoo and awesome soap from "Beach Bubbles," a bath soap company on the island nearby. They smell awesome, so much so that my entire family of boys used them. The pool is fantastic after a long day at the beach. There are two bikes for anyone to ride and I think our oldest son clocked about 100 miles on the East End. The house is decorated so well with granite counters, beach decor, stainless steel appliances and just about anything you need should you choose to cook or grill or make frozen Caribbean concoctions. Outside is a fire pit for a campfire with the ocean sound as your background. The back patio has several seats for anyone to sit and listen to the waves and visit. We stayed when nobody had the upper floor so we had access to the upper floor should we need to play the gaming console there, as well as the last day should we stay beyond cleaning time for SAND. The coolest thing for us at the house was Chick Chick, the white rooster who comes to visit. You'll see chickens and roosters during your stay if you drive the island and Chick Chick comes to the house and will eat Cheerios out of your hand! SAND is the best place to stay!! Away from the hustle of the cruise ships with everything you could ever want or need!! Paul and Fay Anne are wonderful people with an awesome place!!!
 
Guestbook notes
 
What an amazing place!! Paul and Fay Anne are remarkable hosts and treated us like family. We will miss this beautiful oasis but will cherish the memories. Say "Hi" to Chick-Chick for us.
 

 
SAND: May 2016: Absolutely phenomenal! (DM-TripAdvisor) ★★★★★
Our staycaytion at Crescent Beach was absolutely phenomenal! Getting a break from the normal hustle and bustle of town was just what we needed and we were very grateful that the location wasn’t too far out for when we needed to run out for a quick errand. Everything was set-up so wonderfully for us when we arrived, the kids thought it was the best surprise ever, especially when they saw the grand stairway, pool, beach and firewood which had all been so thoughtfully prepared for a bonfire.We enjoyed walking along the iron shore collecting shells and learning how to catch little fish. Early Mother’s Day morning we found two fishermen walking along the shore and went out to see what they were up to and they were kind enough to show us how they use their nets to catch “sprats”, what a show that was for everyone! They encouraged us to try some fishing during our stay and left us with some lines and sprats and we actually ended up with a lovely snapper for dinner that very evening! The location is very close to the new Crystal Caves attraction so we got to do that one morning which was so convenient and a lovely experience. Living with our doors open with the great sea breeze flowing through the house while the kids took breaks between playing ball and swimming outside was so refreshing and everyone felt so secure and comfortable. We loved our vacation pet Chick Chick who came along every morning and evening to check on us, the kids were so proud that they were able to feed him Cheerios right from their hands. Staying at Crescent Beach has certainly changed my view of the Eastern district and I will be back again to enjoy this spectacular part of the island! We will most definitely not forget our stay at Crescent Beach and we cannot wait to return again very soon!
 

 
SAND: March 2016: Perfection on Grand Cayman (AZ-VRBO) ★★★★★
 
We have just returned from a glorious week at Paul and Fay Anne's place on Crescent Beach!! We stayed in Sand, the lower level of the house, and it could not have been more perfect. We have four kids ranging in age from 9 to 16. The layout of the house worked very well. The bedrooms are generous in size, have very comfortable beds and ample storage. The open concept of the large main area meant we could all be together without being on top of each other. The kitchen is fantastic! and has everything that one needs to enjoy eating at home. Having our own beach, pool and snorkelling on our doorstep meant the kids were never at a loss for entertainment. We spent many hours relaxing and enjoying the sound of the surf, just meters away from house. Truly heavenly! Paul and Fay Anne are such generous hosts! They are warm, friendly, easy to get in touch with and they go above and beyond to ensure your stay is enjoyable. I highly recommend this property for anyone looking to have a relaxing family holiday away from the hustle and bustle.
 

 
SAND: March 2016: Guestbook notes (H, A, S, M, A & G)
 
We had so much fun sitting in the sun, snorkeling, playing bounce ball, playing volleybal and swimming. We had a blast at Grand Cayman and hope to come again. P.S.: We will miss "Chick Chick". (The pet rooster)
 

 
SKY: March 2016:   Guestbook notes (WP)
 
Thank you Fay Anne and Paul - you have been great hosts for our stay in your beautiful place on the ocean. Seven Mile Beach was awesome but our favorite hang-out all week was Rum Point. Very laid back atmosphere with one of the best beaches we've seen! The frozen drinks were a hit all week. Calypso Grill was the nicest food venue on the island. Seafood, drinks and desserts were amazing. Seven wonderful days spent in paradise. We hope to be back!!!
 

 
SAND: February 2016:   A peaceful getaway (JV-VRBO)   ★★★★★
 
My friends and I are so fortunate to have had the chance to stay at this wonderful home. With all the amenities needed for your stay and a warm welcoming, this place truly is an escape from it all. Nestled away on the East End we got a true feeling of island life, the local eateries are phenomenal and there is close access to the Botanical Gardens, Rum Point, and not to mention all the places to explore in between. This home has everything a vacation house needs, well organized and   labeled kitchen and living areas, space, comfortable lawn chairs, yard games, a hammock, and wonderful hosts too! Every afternoon I enjoyed an up close encounter with the abundance of marine wildlife in the cove, no need to drive anywhere! My underwater camera and I had a blast every afternoon exploring and watching. I purchased two floating noodles which helped on the days the waves were a little stronger to help float above all these amazing, beautiful and vibrant fish. This was a wonderful stay and when I come back to Grand Cayman I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else but here.
 

 
SKY: February 2016: Guestbook notes (DST)
Dear Paul and Fay Anne - We have enjoyed our week here at Crescent Beach so very much. It was the perfect place to relax and reconnect with the kids. Thank you for being such wonderful and attentive hosts. Our favourite activity this week was the "Eco-Tour" that we took through George's Watersports. We particularly loved swimming with and feeding the stingrays. Rum Point was another favourite hangout for all of us, plus a great place to swim, snorkel and have some great drinks + smoothies. C and I swam here at the house most every morning and loved exploring the reef and seeing all the interesting varieties of fish. For anyone interested in restaurant options, these are the places we tried: Lighthouse Restaurant - very good food, great atmosphere but a bit pricey; Bombay Chopsticks - great Asian/Indian food - moderate to high prices; Brooklyn Pizza and Pasta (at Camana Bay) - very good and pretty reasonable; Margaritaville in George Town - awful! Captain Herman's Fish Fry - yummy! Over The Edge - slow service but great food and great views. We hope to come back very soon. Best wishes for a wonderful year.
 

                    
 
SAND: February 2016: A slice of paradise and the peaceful side of Cayman (KH) ★★★★★
 
Grand Cayman is a beautiful place to visit but having your own little escape to your own paradise makes it all the more amazing. This beautiful house is equipped with everything you need and the owners' friendly manner makes it all the more welcoming. It is hugely spacious, decorated with good taste, has an unbeatable sea view and great balcony area.  It is a bit further East than you may think desirable but the drive is extremely pleasant and we felt there was something wonderful about driving away from the hustle and bustle of the busier areas and back to our tranquility at the end of the night! This would be perfect for large groups wanting to stay together but equally, as a couple, it was a complete luxury to have such a big space to ourselves. We got up early to watch the sunrise and enjoyed every minute of our stay there. There is literally nothing you could want that this house doesn't provide and a swimming pool was being added while we stayed which really would make it an all-round pleaser for anyone wishing to stay. Just bliss!
 

 
SKY: January 2016: A wonderful retreat away from the crowds (MW) ★★★★★
A wonderful retreat away from the crowds (MW) *****
 
Crescent Beach is a special place. It's nice to be some distance away from the cruise ships and Seven Mile Beach high rises. My husband and I stayed in the Sky apartment with another family. The house is spacious and well stocked with a nice kitchen and plenty of room for everyone to spread out. The view is incredible, and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the sunrise with my morning coffee each day. We played volleyball and had bbqs on the sandy beach below, and I snorkeled in the cove. Though the ocean entry is a bit rocky, it's a great little spot with shallow coral gardens and abundant fish life. Past the breakers lay some of the island's most phenomenal scuba diving sites, accessible on a boat from Ocean Frontiers 4 miles up the road. I've done dives on both the east and west sides of the island, and I far prefer the east. Bigger sharks and rays are common off the steeper walls, and the swim through caves are incredible. It's a much more wild experience. If you go, also stay for the lionfish tacos at Eagle Ray's bar. Above land, it's worth a visit to the Botanical gardens and a hike down the Mastic trail. The Blow Holes about a mile up the road are also pretty spectacular. Rum Point is a bit farther away, but always a great spot to spend the afternoon. You can also get to George Town or Seven Mile Beach in about 45 minutes (a bit longer during commute hour).
 

Copyright © Crescent Beach Limited - All Rights Reserved
Back to content